Skip to main content

Table 1 Classification of mast cell activation disease (modified from [24]).

From: Mast cell activation disease: a concise practical guide for diagnostic workup and therapeutic options

Mast cell activation disease (MCAD)  
Mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS)  
Systemic mastocytosis (SM) defined by the WHO criteria • Indolent systemic mastocytosis
• Isolated bone marrow mastocytosis
• Smoldering systemic mastocytosis
• Systemic mastocytosis with an associated clonal hematologic non-mast cell lineage disease
• Aggressive systemic mastocytosis
Mast cell leukemia (MCL)